Organizational Structure ICPR:

Bio-Data of Professor S.K. Thorat
Born on 12 July 1949 at Amravati District (Maharashtra), Professor Sukhadeo Thorat did his graduation from Milind College of Arts and Post Graduation from Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Marathwada University at Aurangabad.   He did his diploma in Economic Planning at Main School of Planning Warsaw, Poland and Ph.D., in Economics from Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi.  He has D.Litt (Honorary Cause) from nine universities in India and also D.Sc (Honorary Cause) from the University of Technology, Morises.

He is associated with a number of professional organizations and has held significant positions such as Chairman University Grants Commission, Faculty Member, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Dew Delhi, Visiting Faculty at Department of Economics, Iowa State University, AMES, USA, Director of Indian Institute of Dalit Studies, New Delhi, Research Associate of International Food Policy Research Institute, Washington DC, USA and Lecturer, Vasantrao Naik College, Aurangabad.  Currently, Professor Thorat is the Chairman of Indian Council of Social Science Research.

Professor Thorat has published 16 books, presented 81 papers and completed 28 research projects.  He has visited more than 23 countries throughout the world for participation in Conferences, Lectures and for Research Collaboration.  His main areas of Research pertains to Agricultural Development, Rural poverty, Institution of Economic Growth, Problems of marginalized Groups, Economics of Caste System, Caste Discrimination and Poverty, Human Development, Human Rights Issue, Thoughts of Ambedkar, Slums, Higher Education etc.,

He has been honored by giving Padmashree award by the Government of India 2008; Mother Teresa International Award life time achievement 2010; Life time Achievement Award by Purbanchal Academy of Oriental Studies in association with Ministry of HRD in 2007; P.K. Patil Purushottam Award in 2007; Bharat Shiromani award by Hiromani Institute in 2006 and Amedkar Chetna Award in 2001.